A. KOSTIS- The Jail's a Fine School OLV-001 / MRP-097

Release date: September 17, 2015

First ever vinyl collection of the legendary “Kostis,” the most enigmatic of all Greek rebetika artists. 12 tracks of truly unique guitar duets and black-humor lyrics chronicling the hash dens, prison culture and pickpockets of old Athens. Recorded under a pseudonym for export to the Greeks living in America, research has uncovered the musician, journalist and cartoonist Kostas Bezos as the figure lurking behind the Kostis name, with ties to the famous singer Tetos Demetriades. Renowned for his slide guitar playing in Hawaiian-style orchestras throughout the 1930s, the Kostis recordings reveal an entirely different underworld of the macabre and illicit. The use of guitar in these now-classic rebetika songs display a virtuosity of finger-picked Near-Eastern modes and unusual tunings at the dawn of rebetika, when the bouzouki was yet to become supreme.

Presented in pristine audio quality mastered from original 78 rpm discs by Michael Graves, “The Jail’s a Fine School” stands as an important document of an enduring mystery in Greek music, and a high standard for what was once a truly subversive art form.


  1. Giannis Hasiklis {Yannis The Hash Smoker} (3:56)
  2. Kaike Ena Scholeio {A School Was Burned} (4:10)
  3. Troumba (4:01)
  4. Isouna Xipoliti {You Were Barefoot} (3:55)
  5. Dertlidhikos Horos (4:09)
  6. Stin Ypoga {In The Basement} (3:59)
  7. Ap' Tin Porta Sou Perno {I Pass By Your Door} (4:17)
  8. Toumbeleki Toumbeleki (4:17)
  9. Me Pianoune Zaladhes {Dizziness Overcomes Me} (4:09)
  10. Touto To Kalokeraki (4:15)
  11. Adinatisa O Kaimenos {I Became Thin} (4:15)
  12. I Fylaki Einai Scholeio {The Jail's a Fine School} (4:22)

Pressing Information

Black vinyl LP in a heavyweight, reverse print photo jacket. The package includes a 28 page booklet with extensive notes by Tony Klein (“Greek Rhapsody,” “Mortika”), full lyrics in Greek and English, and several previously unpublished photographs.

The first release by Gordon Ashworth's Olvido label, co-released by Mississippi Records.

All orders come with an instant MP3 or lossless digital download of the entire album, plus a PDF version of the 28 page booklet.