HELLO SHARK- Break Arms & H.S. ORD-28

Release date: May 12, 2017

Limited edition two-for-one tape of two Hello Shark albums, available in two colors (red & blue) with a reversible j-card cover

Hello Shark’s Linc Halloran writes heart-wrenching pop songs of young love & aimlessness, loaded with perfectly vivid turns of phrase that bloom & wilt all at once. The stories are uplifting for their familiarity, & hilarious for their humility. More than anything, though, they ache with thousands of small regrets. Disappointment & romance are everywhere, if you look hard enough.

This limited edition cassette release collects Hello Shark’s beloved first two albums, 2011’s Break Arms & 2013’s H.S., both originally released on compact disc by Burst and Bloom Records. The collection commemorates Hello Shark’s “classic” Burlington, VT line-up (Alex Decato on drums, Sean Hood on bass, & Linc Halloran on guitar & vocals) from way back when the world was young, before the wind blew Linc to Philadelphia, PA.

Listening to young Linc’s words & voice on these recordings remind me of waking up in a sleeping bag on a bare mattress on a cold morning, blearily remembering the night before, wondering how the sand got in my shoes. They remind me of window sills full of empties, & texts unsent because my phone died. They remind me of parents’ hand-me-down Volvo station wagons filled with boxes & books, moving my life away from a college town where I did not attend college, & crossed fingers for better luck elsewhere.


  1. In Montreal Canyons (3:13)
  2. I Was Small (1:53)
  3. Massachusetts (3:22)
  4. Schnapps And Cops (2:56)
  5. Seven Hundred (3:19)
  6. The Rolling Stones (2:52)
  7. Mike (2:17)
  8. Pink Frosting (2:35)
  9. Break Arms (2:14)
  10. My Life (3:39)
  11. Swimming Is Not Hard (5:09)
  12. Black vs. Navy Blue (3:24)
  13. Box of Wine (2:03)
  14. Neon Bouquet (2:47)
  15. I Was Small (Round Two) (2:28)
  16. Christmas Eve (2:46)
  17. 2 Sunnies, 3 Bloodies (1:25)
  18. Eagles/Seagulls (3:32)
  19. Brooklyn Mountains (2:20)
  20. Grass Lawns (2:35)
  21. Pink Frosting (3:02)
  22. My Head (3:26)
  23. Stayed on an Island (1:27) *
  24. Stars Are Glow (2:31) *

* Cassette only bonus tracks, not available on the digital version

Pressing Information

Professionally dubbed & imprinted chrome cassettes come in two different colors (100 blue, 100 red) with a reversible, full-color j-card & download code in a white Norelco shell. Cassette includes two bonus tracks, "Stayed on an Island" & "Stars are Glow," from the out-of-print 2011 split 7" with Advance Base on PIAPTK Records. Tape edition limited to 200 copies. 24 tracks, 67 minutes.