GIA MARGARET- There's Always Glimmer ORD-34

Release date: July 27, 2018

GoldFlakePaint's favorite album of 2018!

Chicago singer/songwriter/producer Gia Margaret describes her music as “sleep rock.” It’s a genre all her own, combining elements of folk, shoegaze, slowcore, ambient electronica and trip hop. For her self-produced debut album, There’s Always Glimmer (out July 27, 2018 on Orindal Records), Gia Margaret crafted twelve gorgeously melancholic lullabies to combat her own insomnia, and to salvage some beauty from the brighter and darker moments of her life.

There’s Always Glimmer explores relationships between friends, family members and significant others, often in past tense. Sparse verses isolate mundane moments of domestic and urban life, and choruses ache with earnest expressions of yearning and loss. The disarmingly simple language of Gia Margaret’s lyrics, when carried by the melodic sparkle of her singing voice, have the power to elevate an ordinary moment into something supremely nostalgic and sentimental. A ride on a train, a hand on a shoulder, a dog in a yard, the light of the moon through an apartment window are each made significant and sacred, worthy of examination and preservation.

As much as it addresses the unease in our lives, each song on There’s Always Glimmer is steeped in loving comfort, awash with gentle sounds to usher the still minutes before dreams come, when we’re left alone amidst the shadows and the echoes of our memory. There’s Always Glimmer exists to fill the darkness and the quiet.

"Starry ballads that feel eternal but immediate" - Stereogum

"On the first single from her forthcoming debut album, There’s Always Glimmer, Gia Margaret looks deeply into the space that remains after a loved one leaves your life. “Birthday” is a gentle, mid-tempo rock song that couches the weight of its lyrics in lush electric guitar chords, gleaming synthesizer patches, and big, expressive drums, hitting the sweet spot between Imogen Heap and Broken Social Scene. In a voice that barely rises above a whisper, the Chicago-based singer/songwriter details a sudden, devastating breakup. “I can’t pretend I didn't know it/But then the night came and you were gone,” she sings, her voice multi-tracked and produced in a way that makes the edges of her consonants pop. After the shock of the initial split, Margaret starts to preemptively mourn all the rituals she won't get to share again with her ex-partner. “Wouldn’t it be so strange/Not to be with you on your birthday?” she asks on the chorus. Her vocal melody skews oddly optimistic, vaulting up toward the top of her range as if she's trying to put a positive spin on her loss. “Birthday” may be an emotionally moving breakup song, but it's the kind that lets you self-soothe in the midst of grief." -Pitchfork


  1. Groceries (3:35)
  2. Birthday (3:47)
  3. Figures (2:54)
  4. Smoke (3:48)
  5. Goodnight (2:55)
  6. In Normal Ways (2:52)
  7. Looking (3:24)
  8. For Flora (1:45)
  9. Sugar (2:15)
  10. Exist (2:45)
  11. Wayne (2:16)
  12. West (2:22)
  13. Pressing Information

    First vinyl pressing:
    600 high quality, 150g LPs in extra heavyweight, full color photo jackets with Risograph-printed lyric inserts.

    330 copies on Coke bottle clear vinyl (SOLD OUT)
    150 copies on black vinyl
    120 copies on transparent green vinyl (Kickstarter exclusive)

    Second vinyl pressing:
    400 high quality, 150g LPs on Coke bottle clear vinyl, packaged in extra heavyweight, full color photo jackets with Risograph-printed lyric inserts. SOLD OUT.

    Third vinyl pressing:
    500 high quality, 150g LPs on Coke bottle clear vinyl, packaged in extra heavyweight, full color photo jackets with Risograph-printed lyric inserts. Shipping now.

    Tape edition:
    250 high bias chrome tapes in silver glitter shells imprinted with white ink packaged in full color, double-sided j-cards & clear Norelco cases. Tape includes two bonus tracks: "Babies" & "Smoke (Acoustic)".

    Import CD edition
    Compact discs imported from our friends at Dalliance Recordings. CD is packaged in a mini-record jacket with a printed inner sleeve featuring art by Rand Renfrow, plus a foldout poster with full color LP art & complete lyrics.

    All orders include an instant digital download of There's Always Glimmer.

    There's Always Glimmer vinyl is distributed by The Business in Anacortes, WA.