ADVANCE BASE- Tomorrow's Homes Today EP ORD-11

Tape release date: December 10, 2013
CD release date: September 13, 2019

Advance Base plays The Magnetic Fields' House of Tomorrow EP

Released as a companion piece to Advance Base's Washington Phillips tribute EP, The World Is In A Bad Fix Everywhere (released earlier this year on Orindal/Caldo Verde), Advance Base's Owen Ashworth has re-imagined Stephin Merritt's classic 1992 indie pop EP, The House of Tomorrow, as Tomorrow's Homes Today.

Whereas each song on the Magnetic Fields' The House of Tomorrow EP was digitally constructed from a single, repeating musical phrase, Ashworth has built his cover versions from loose, ragged, live performances of autoharp, electric piano, Omnichord, Mellotron, & kitchen-sink percussion, recorded entirely on 4-track cassette & accompanied by Ashworth's own warm baritone.

Autoharp, electric piano, fuzz bass, Hohner Bass 3, Omnichord, Mellotron samples, drums, percussion, rhythm box, sampler, vocals, reverb, & tape machine by Owen Ashworth

All songs written by Stephin Merritt, published by Gay and Loud (ASCAP)


  1. Young and Insane
  2. Technical (You're So)
  3. Alien Being
  4. Love Goes Home to Paris in the Spring
  5. Either You Don't Love Me or I Don't Love You

Pressing Information

Tape edition
100 home-dubbed, high bias, c-18 tapes in white shells. Black & white, 4-panel j-cards Risograph printed on heavy, French paper cardstock by Issue Press in Grand Rapids, MI. Cover art by Owen Ashworth. OUT OF PRINT.

Remastered CD edition
500 full color, glass master compact discs packaged in black & white mini-LP jackets. Cover art by Owen Ashworth.

All orders include an instant digital download.