CLAIRE CRONIN- Big Dread Moon ORD-44

Release date: June 14, 2019

"When she sings, you believe every word."
- Sam Sodomsky, Pitchfork

"For fans of: Flannery O’ Connor, Sharon Van Etten, and werewolves."
- Zoe Camp, Bandcamp

Big Dread Moon by Claire Cronin is a record of spiritual urgency. Cronin's lyrics and melodies draw on the the stranger aspects of early American musical tradition, revealing the genre’s ties to “folk horror,” wherein supernatural and mundane worlds merge. Quietly sinister ballads like "Tourniquet" and "Wolfman" arise from the weird logic of dream, myth, and half-forgotten memories. Suburban homes, TV screens, and city landscapes are haunted by saints, beasts, ghosts, seers, and a “calm and decisionless” god. Lyrics which implore or command act like prayers or spells embedded inside Cronin's fever dream stories and personal confessions.

These are devastatingly spare, delicate, emotionally intense songs, arranged around electric guitar, viola, and Cronin’s singular voice.

Big Dread Moon was recorded and mixed at Figure 8 in Brooklyn by Shahzad Ismaily and mastered with additional mixing by Matt Mehlan.


  1. Tourniquet (3:20)
  2. What the Night is Thinking (2:32)
  3. Wolfman (5:46)
  4. Saint’s Lake (3:45)
  5. Like a Shield (3:51)
  6. Call Out (3:07)
  7. Six Guns (3:58)
  8. The Lamb (3:30)
  9. Pressing Information

    400 high quality, 150g vinyl LPs in rice paper innersleeves & extra heavyweight, full-color photo jackets w/ complete album lyrics. 8 songs, 30 minutes.

    300 copies on sea glass green vinyl
    100 copies on black vinyl

    Vinyl pre-orders include a full color 11x17 bonus poster.

    All orders include a digital download of the entire album. Downloads will be delivered via email on or before the June 14 release date.

    Big Dread Moon is distributed by The Business.