ADVANCE BASE- A Shut-In's Prayer ORD-03

Release date: May 15, 2012

Advance Base is the new musical project by Chicago, Illinois singer, songwriter, & producer Owen Ashworth (formerly of Casiotone for the Painfully Alone). A Shut-In's Prayer is Ashworth's first full-length release in over three years, & his first under the name Advance Base. Recorded at home & in piano practice rooms at the Chicago Public Library, A Shut-In's Prayer is an intimate collection of deliberately crafted but decidedly lo-fi torch songs, waltzes & ballads. Accompanying himself on his Rhodes 54 electric piano, Ashworth sings nostalgic stories about lost loves, childhood friends, estranged siblings, & hard feelings over simple drum machine rhythms & spare percussion. The additional arrangements that fill out these ten songs intertwine gentle upright piano melodies & expansive electric bass, filling the spaces between plainly-sung harmony vocals & strummed autoharp chords, with the occasional creaking floorboard or snapping reverb spring to remind you of the cramped rooms where this album was recorded. It's a different sound than one might expect from the dude from Casiotone for the Painfully Alone, but Ashworth's keen ear for melody & idiosyncratic skill as a lyricist have only improved in recent years, pushing his memorable songwriting in all new directions. At age 35, Ashworth has a lot of music left in him, & he's just getting started again.

"This is an album of interiors, the childhood memories and small epiphanies of stay-at home-dreamers" -MOJO (Read the full review HERE)

“A smart progression from Ashworth’s Casiotone recordings, presenting that project’s bittersweet introspection with more nuanced production.”
"A Shut-In's Prayer is arguably the strongest album of Owen Ashworth's career thus far" -PITCHFORK (Read the full review HERE)


  1. Summer Music
  2. New Gospel
  3. More Trouble
  4. David Allen
  5. Christmas In Oakland
  6. Riot Grrrls
  7. Goldfish In a Robin's Nest
  8. My Sister's Birthday
  9. The Sister You Never Had
  10. Shut-In River Blues

Pressing Information

Vinyl edition
150 gram marbled vinyl in a heavy duty tip-on sleeve, limited to 1000 copies

Tape edition
150 professionally dubbed, high bias cassette tapes in silver metallic shells, imprinted with the Orindal Records logo. 4-panel black & white J-cards feature photography by Tom Cops.

Every purchase includes an instant FLAC or MP3 download of the entire album

US/Canada CD released by Caldo Verde Records

Europe/UK CD/LP on Tomlab Records

Orindal Records is distributed exclusively by The Business in Anacortes, WA.