ADVANCE BASE- Nephew in the Wild ORD-16

Release date: August 21, 2015
2022 vinyl repress shipping by November 14, 2022

Nephew in the Wild is PopMatters' #1 Indie Pop album of 2015!

It’s been three years since Advance Base’s debut album, A Shut-In’s Prayer, made #19 on MOJO Magazine's Best Albums of 2012 list. Since then, singer, songwriter & multi-instrumentalist Owen Ashworth has published a book of drawings, made beats for Chicago rapper Serengeti, recorded the debut single by psych-folk troubadour Julie Byrne, paid tribute to gospel & outsider music legend Washington Phillips (see 2013’s The World Is In A Bad Fix Everywhere EP), contributed electric piano & co-writing credits to Sun Kil Moon’s critically acclaimed 2014 album, Benji, & produced more than a dozen other releases for his own label, Orindal Records. Ashworth has finally turned his focus back on his own music & given us Nephew in the Wild, the second official album by Advance Base.

Nephew in the Wild is a nostalgic, melancholic & occasionally harrowing collection of lo-fi indie rock & electronic pop. Electric pianos, drum kits, drum machines, autoharps, Omnichords, Optigans, Mellotrons & the occasional guitar lay the foundation for sweetly sad stories about lonely Midwesterners trying to make sense of their troubled pasts. In the world of Nephew in the Wild, the internet hasn’t been invented yet, & a change of address is the only thing a person needs to exit their old life completely. Disappearance, displacement, hell-raising, child-raising, Christmas, Michigan, arson, aging & animals are recurring themes throughout the album. Nephew in the Wild was recorded by Ashworth in his basement in Oak Park, IL & features the talents of the following guest musicians:

Mike Adams: synthesizer (5), drums (9)
Nick Ammerman: autoharp (7)
Edward Crouse: bass (7)
Howard Draper: lap steel guitar (3)
Emma Hospelhorn: bass (2)
Nicholas Krgovich: backing vocals (6), synthesizer (10)
Mat Sweet: guitar (9)
Jody Weinmann: Omnichord & vocals (7)


  1. Trisha Please Come Home (3:38)
  2. Might of the Moose (2:31)
  3. Christmas in Dearborn (2:55)
  4. Pamela (2:58)
  5. Christmas in Milwaukee (3:21)
  6. Summon Satan (2:23)
  7. My Love for You Is like a Puppy Underfoot (2:50)
  8. The Only Other Girl from Back Home (3:08)
  9. Nephew in the Wild (6:14)
  10. Kitty Winn (5:31)

Pressing Information

Vinyl editions
100 black test pressings w/ gold labels (SOLD OUT)
200 blue/lavender/clear splatter LPs w/ silver labels (SOLD OUT)
400 lavender LPs w/ silver labels & fancy poly-lined sleeves (SOLD OUT)
400 black LPs w/ silver labels & fancy poly-lined sleeves
All vinyl records are packaged in full color, heavyweight jackets featuring artwork by Todd Freeman & complete lyrics.

2022 re-press:
Edition of 600 160 gram vinyl LPs pressed by Smashed Plastic & struck from new lacquers cut by Matt Barnhart at Chicago Mastering Service.
LPs feature black & white labels & ship in fancy, poly-lined sleeves.
LP packages include full color, extra heavyweight jackets featuring artwork by Todd Freeman & complete album lyrics, redesigned by Jess Jones.
10 tracks, 35 minutes.

300 copies on gold metallic vinyl
300 copies on classic black vinyl


CD edition
500 compact discs packaged in full color, 4 panel digipaks

Tape edition
Version 1 cassette tapes are housed in gold metallic shells & imprinted with black ink. 4-panel J-cards feature alternate cover art by Todd Freeman printed with metallic gold ink on heavy black cardstock. Risograph printing by Issue Press of Grand Rapids, MI.
1st edition: 200 professionally dubbed Chrome cassette tapes (SOLD OUT)
2nd edition: 50 professionally dubbed Chrome Plus cassette tapes (SOLD OUT)

Version 2 cassette tapes are also housed in gold metallic shells & imprinted with black ink. 4-panel, full color J-cards feature original album art by Todd Freeman. Printing & manufacturing by National Audio.
100 professionally dubbed Super Ferric tapes

All orders include a lossless digital download of the entire album & digital lyric booklet

Nephew in the Wild is distributed by The Business.

Nephew in the Wild is available in Europe & UK through Tomlab Records